Loading... Please wait...

San Diego Sports Arena & San Diego Stadium (ICS 107893)


Product Description


ICS 107893

SAN DIEGO SPORTS ARENA: San Diego Gulls (WHL) (1966-1974) San Diego Rockets (NBA) (1967-1971) San Diego Conquistadors/Sails (ABA) (1974-1976) San Diego Mariners (WHA) (1974-1977) San Diego Clippers (NBA) (1978-1984) San Diego Sockers (NASL/MISL I/CISL) (1980-1996) San Diego Gulls (IHL) (1990-1995) San Diego Gulls (ECHL) (1995-2006) San Diego Sockers II (WISL/MISL II) (2001-2004) San Diego Riptide (af2) (2002-2005) San Diego Barracudas (RHI) (1993-1996) San Diego Seduction LFL (2009-present)

The San Diego Sports Arena (formerly iPayOne Center from 2004–2007) opened on November 17, 1966 when more than 11,000 pro hockey fans watched the San Diego Gulls (then a member of the Western Hockey League) win their season opener, 4–1, against the Seattle Totems.

It was the home of the San Diego Rockets of the National Basketball Association (NBA) from 1967–1971, the San Diego Conquistadors/Sails of the American Basketball Association from 1974-1976, the San Diego Mariners of the World Hockey Association from 1974-1977, the San Diego Clippers of the NBA from 1978-1984, the San Diego State University Aztecs basketball teams, off and on, from 1966-1997, the San Diego Sockers indoor soccer team which won 10 titles in the arena, as well as other small sports franchises such as World Team Tennis.

The venue hosted the 1971 NBA All-Star Game and the 1975 NCAA men's basketball Final Four as well.

The Boston Bruins, whose home ice was of the same dimensions, used the San Diego Gulls as a farm team in the 1960s and 1970s. The San Diego hockey fans, of the WHA (World Hockey Association- San Diego Mariners) came to the San Diego Sports Arena in 1974.

SAN DIEGO STADIUM: San Diego Chargers (AFL / NFL) (1967-present) Holiday Bowl (NCAA) (1978-present) Poinsettia Bowl (NCAA) (2005-present) San Diego State Aztecs (NCAA) (1967-present) San Diego Padres (MLB) (1969-2003) San Diego Padres (PCL) (1968) San Diego Sockers (NASL) (1978-1984) San Diego Jaws (NASL) (1976)

Qualcomm Stadium (a.k.a. "The Q", "The Murph"), formerly known as San Diego Stadium and Jack Murphy Stadium, is a multi-purpose stadium in San Diego, California. It is the current home of the San Diego Chargers of the National Football League and of the San Diego State University Aztecs college football team. It hosts the Pacific Life Holiday Bowl and the San Diego County Credit Union Poinsettia Bowl college football games every December. Until 2003, it served as the home of San Diego Padres of Major League Baseball. The stadium has hosted three Super Bowl games: Super Bowl XXII in 1988, Super Bowl XXXII in 1998, and Super Bowl XXXVII in 2003. It has also hosted the 1978 and 1992 Major League Baseball All-Star Games, the 1996 and 1998 National League Division Series, the 1984 and 1998 National League Championship Series, and the 1984 and 1998 World Series. It is the only stadium ever to host both the Super Bowl and the World Series in the same year (1998).

Unused 4" x 6" deckled continental size chrome

Dist. by Aztec

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

ICS 107893
Calculated at checkout