Loading... Please wait...

Orange Bowl (CD 1268 orange border)


Product Description


CD 1268 orange border

Miami Hurricanes (NCAA) (1937-2007) FIU Golden Panthers (NCAA) (2007) Miami Tropics (SFL) (2000) Miami Seahawks (AAFC) (1946) Miami Dolphins (AFL / NFL) (1966-1986) Super Bowl III (AFL / NFL) (1969) Orange Bowl Classic (1938-1995, 1999) Playoff Bowl (NFL) (1961-1970) Miami Toros (NASL) (1972-1976) Miami Freedom (ASL / APSL) (1988-1992) USA Bowl (2005-2007)

The Miami Orange Bowl was a stadium in the City of Miami, west of Downtown in Little Havana. Considered a landmark, it was the home stadium for the University of Miami Hurricanes football team and the temporary home of the Florida International University Golden Panthers for the 2007 football season while the FIU Stadium underwent expansion. It also hosted the Miami Dolphins until the opening of LandShark Stadium (then called Joe Robbie Stadium) in what is now nearby Miami Gardens in 1987. The stadium was renamed in 1959 for the Orange Bowl college football game, which was played at the Orange Bowl following every season from 1938 to 1995, moving to Dolphin Stadium in 1996, which has hosted it ever since (save for the January 1999 contest, which, due to a scheduling conflict, was hosted by the Orange Bowl one final time). The Minor League Baseball Miami Marlins occasionally played games in the Orange Bowl from 1956 to 1960.

Demolition began in March 2008, and will eventually make way for a new 37,000 seat retractable roof baseball stadium that is scheduled to open as the home of the current Florida Marlins in 2012. The team has agreed to change their name to the "Miami Marlins" as part of the agreement between the team, the City of Miami, and Miami-Dade County.

Unused 4" x 6" continental size chrome postcard.

Dist. by Gulfstream Card Co.

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

CD 1268 orange border
Calculated at checkout